Tribute to Daddy

Today

Would have been

My dad’s 89th birthday.

I thought it fitting

To share

Some of the ways

He taught me

To fly.

He loved nature.

I was bored

Growing up in the country.

But now

The peace, stillness and beauty

Have begun to captivate.

My dad was always

Hardworking,

Willing to do

What had to be done.

He never cared about

Accumulating great wealth,

But the bills were paid,

There were clothes on our backs

And food on the table.

Family was important.

He remembered that

When other memories faded.

Despite his frugal habits,

He offered to pay for

My post secondary education

And my wedding.

As a mother,

It still warms my heart

To think of him

Referring to my firstborn as

Buddy

And going for walks with all three

In the woods he loved so much.

These memories

Have only scratched the surface.

But if I take to heart

These lessons,

I will continue to fly.

Thanks, Daddy.

I miss you.

…everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened. “Which of you fathers, if your son asks for a fish, will give him a snake instead?…If you…know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give… (Luke 11:10-13, NIV).

One thought on “Tribute to Daddy

Leave a Reply

