Just Fly

Thought patterns,

Long since laid to rest,

Threatened to hold me down.

I looked around.

There is so much to do.

And then the thought came:

What would she think?

And I judged myself,

No longer content.

Do I have more to learn?

Of course!

More than this lifetime

Will allow.

Will I always have things

On my to do list?

As long as I’m able.

Are these excuses

For moping?

Absolutely not!

Do I want to be weighted down?

Another NO!

So what do I do?

Jump!

When I leap from the precipice,

The weights crash on the rocks

Far beneath.

I,

On the other hand,

Take to the skies,

If I but

Flap my wings.

But godliness with contentment is great gain (1 Timothy 6:6, NIV).

Leave a Reply

