Clean Heart

When I was in college,

I thought balance

Was synonymous with compromise.

I thought I was very spiritual.

I was, however,

Spiritually-minded

Yet very immature.

Though I don’t think

I will ever “arrive,”

As I’ve grown older,

I have gained some wisdom.

I’ve discovered

It really is about balance.

Why I do what I do

Is at least equally important

As what I do.

I believe in absolutes.

Some things are just, plain wrong.

However,

Many others can go either way.

The same thing

Can entangle me

And keep me grounded

Or

Give me wings

To reach even new heights.

Take, for instance,

Earning money.

I can earn money

And spend it selfishly

Or

I can earn it

And benefit countless others.

It isn’t a matter of giving

To make myself look good

Or worse,

To justify selfish spending.

It’s about having

An unselfish, giving heart.

I guess that’s what I need.

If my heart is right,

My motives will be right

And I will undoubtedly

Soar!

“Create in me a clean heart, O God, And renew a steadfast spirit within me” (Psalm 51:10, NKJV).

3 thoughts on “Clean Heart

Leave a Reply

