The Mirror

I wonder if birds

Recognize themselves

When they fly over still waters

Or past darkened windows.

It’s their reflection,

Plain for anyone to see,

Anyone with

The ability to comprehend.

Though I don’t know

What birds think

When they sees their reflection,

I do know

I have a number of reactions

When I see mine.

If I like what I see,

Of course,

I recognize the image

As my reflection.

If there’s something slightly amiss,

I do what I can to correct it

And move on.

However,

If I don’t like what I see,

I may ignore it

Or deny that it’s my image.

This may be my reaction

To my physical appearance.

However,

It is much more crucial

That I acknowledge

My shortcomings and limitations

In matters of more importance.

My character.

My nature.

My deepest motivations.

When my eldest was a child

And would do something

That angered me,

It was often because

He reflected things I didn’t like

About myself.

I came to realize

A mirror had been held up.

Instead of acknowledging

What needed addressing

In my life,

I tried to smash the mirror.

How thankful I am that,

Now that’s he’s grown,

My son and I are very close.

However,

I must never forget the lesson.

When I become aware

Of something I need to change in me,

I must not turn away.

I must do all I can

To become the one

I’m meant to be.

That is the only way to soar,

The only way to teach others

To rise on the currents.

If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness (1 John 1:8-9, NIV).

Leave a Reply

