Fly High

In light of

The earthquake and tsunami

That hit Japan…

And the other

Very serious situations

Around the globe…

Today

I want to discuss

Lessons from another kind of bird,

The ostrich.

OK, not the real bird.

The cartoon version.

The one with its head

Stuck in the sand.

While it is wonderful to

Take to the skies,

It is not good to ignore

What is happening all around.

When I fly above the earth

It can…

It should…

Give me a different perspective.

Where can I go

To offer encouragement

And some very practical,

Roll-up-my-sleeves

Kind of help?

I can’t go to Japan

To help with the clean-up.

But I can pray…

And I believe prayer

Accomplishes more

Than most realize.

I can also keep my eyes sharp

For situations closer to home…

For people

For whom I can pray

And to whom

I can extend a hand.

May I refuse to

Stick my head in the sand.

May I fly high,

Not simply because

I like it in the skies,

But to gain a better perspective.

Suppose a brother or a sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to them, “Go in peace; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about their physical needs, what good is it? (James 2:15-16, NIV)

One thought on “Fly High

  1. Hi Stephanie,

    We woke up to the news of the tsunami this morning…. God knows what He is doing and He definitely wants our hearts and minds in prayer for all those concerned…. In days of disaster and in days of joy, we need to have our hearts turned to our Lord…. Thank you for putting it in words.

    Love,
    Margaret

Leave a Reply

