Of True Worth

Twenty-four hours.

Fourteen hundred forty minutes.

Eighty-six thousand four hundred seconds.

It sounds like a lot.

But the longer I live,

The more I realize,

Each day is gone

Before I know it.

I rarely,

If ever,

Accomplish all I plan.

The solution?

Simply a shorter To Do list?

No!

It’s time to re-evaluate

My priorities.

To focus my attention.

Let go of the unimportant.

Make sure I know

What is most valuable.

Instead of trying to get

A little bit of everything

Done every day,

I must devote

Serious chunks of time

To each pursuit.

I must evaluate their worth.

Not measured by

Personal satisfaction

Or

My level of happiness.

Does each endeavour glorify

The One who gave me wings?

Does it benefit others

And help them soar?

Those are

The true measures of worth.

If an entry in my day planner

Passes the test,

I must fulfill it diligently.

If it doesn’t,

It’s time to cross it

From the list.

Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself’ (Luke 10:27, NIV).

Leave a Reply

