The Eyes of Love

I make my lists.

I plan my days.

I look at the beauty before me

And anticipate

The sense of accomplishment I’ll feel

At the end of my day’s journey.

The sky’s wide open,

Filled with promise

And opportunity.

And then,

The diversion comes…

Can you..?

Will you..?

Would you..?

OK, I respond.

And my grand plans

Fly off without me.

The horizon

Seems even farther away.

How will I ever get there

With all these interruptions?

And then it dawns on me…

These diversions…

These people…

Are not an interruption.

In them

Is my real purpose…

Those scheduled stopovers

On the way to

My Ultimate Destination.

Of course

There are distractions and requests

That are not mine to pursue.

But I must be willing,

Ever willing,

To see people

Through the eyes of love.

…whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me [Jesus] (Matthew 25:40, NIV).

4 thoughts on “The Eyes of Love

  1. I needed that!
    AAs I thought today why is it that everyone else around me gets to change my plans, I was getting a little upset. Why do I always have to be the one to move….Then I read this.. It is my purpose to move for others!At least thats what it spoke to me… Thanks for posting this, Blessings

  2. Sometimes when we have our “to-do” list it is altered as God has other plans for us to accomplish for Him that day. Thanks for sharing His love, Stephanie.

Leave a Reply

