Yellow Light Day

While I love to soar

Beyond the boundaries

Of the day-to-day…

The reality is

I must live here,

Earthbound in many ways.

Take, for instance,

The time I took today

Driving my husband to work.

I seemed to hit

Nothing but yellow lights.

(Most of which

I should have stopped for.)

It got me thinking…

Life’s like that.

I love to hit the green lights,

No need to stop

Or even slow down.

Then

I come upon a yellow light.

Do I stop or continue on?

A yellow light

Is always a warning.

Soon

It won’t be safe to proceed.

I must begin to see

Life’s yellow lights

In the same way.

I must stop

And evaluate the situation.

Taking the time

To make sure

I’m heading the right way.

It gives me time to think.

To re-evaluate my path.

To plan a change-of-direction

When necessary.

So

May I see yellow lights

Not as an inconvenience

(Or something to speed through).

May I see them as a blessing,

An opportunity.

His divine power has given us everything we need for a godly life through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness (2 Peter 2:3, NIV) .

3 thoughts on “Yellow Light Day

  1. Yellow lights used to annoy me – rush, rush. Now, I try to look at themj as time to regroup. haha Or – to just leave earlier to get to my destination. !

Leave a Reply

