Sorry, Autumn

For years,

Fall was my favourite season.

I love the colours.

The smells.

The crunch of leaves underfoot.

While these things

Are still very appealing,

Spring is working hard

To displace autumn.

Maybe more than

At any time in the past…

And remember,

I’ve seen 50 springtimes…

I’m flying high.

The sunshine.

The birds.

The buds just beginning to show.

The anticipation is tangible.

Hopes and dreams

Alive.

What will this spring hold?

I don’t know for certain.

But I just may have to apologize

To the other season

That has long held my affection

And raised me heavenward.

…let all who take refuge in you be glad; let them ever sing for joy (Psalm 5:11, NIV).

One thought on “Sorry, Autumn

Leave a Reply

