You’re the Bestest

Can my family and friends

Count on me?

Not necessarily to do

All the things

They think

I should.

But to be there for them.

When push comes to shove,

Would they know

I’m one of those

Call-in-the-middle-of-the-night friends?

I hope so.

I wanna be.

And it’s so much fun

To surprise someone

By saying YES

When they expect a NO.

I used to sternly call

One of my children.

He would wonder

What he’d done wrong.

And to his surprise,

I’d say,

I LOVE YOU!

I want to be that kind of friend.

A call-me-at-midnight.

Look-to-delight-you.

You-are-the-bestest.

Kinda friend.

After all,

Without family and friends,

I have no wings.

We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us…if it is to encourage, then give encouragement (Romans 12:6,8 NIV).

Leave a Reply

