Forget You?

Shall I forget you?

You who carried me

In your womb

And rejoiced

At my birth.

Shall I forget you?

You who lavished me

With love

And with gifts.

Shall I forget you?

You who pointed me

In the direction of

The Saviour

And shared my faith.

Shall I forget you?

You who took me on roadtrips

And explored the shops

We came upon.

Shall I forget you?

You with whom I planned

My wedding

And shared the ecstasy

When finding I was pregnant.

Shall I forget you?

The one who traveled

Back and forth

Countless times

After we’d moved away.

Shall I forget you?

The one with whom I

Always, always, always

Wanted to share

My joy and my sorrow.

Shall I forget you?

You who smiled

Maybe for the last time

On her 86th birthday

Alone with me and my sister.

Shall I forget you?

You who was

Ushered into

The Saviour’s presence

So shortly after

We celebrated

His life, death

And resurrection.

Shall I forget you?

The one who,

In many ways,

Taught me to fly.

Not ever!

Dear Mom,

You will be missed.

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb (Psalm 139:13 NIV).

Precious in the sight of the LORD is the death of his faithful servants. Truly I am your servant, LORD; I serve you just as my mother did; you have freed me from my chains. I will sacrifice a thank offering to you and call on the name of the LORD (Psalm 116:15-17 NIV).

3 thoughts on “Forget You?

  1. what a lovely honorary poem to your mother… sounds like you were blessed indeed! happy mothers day.

Leave a Reply

