The Fog Clears

As I mentioned yesterday,

Sometimes I have to fly

Shrouded in fog.

When that fog clears,

I don’t always like

What I see.

We received disappointing news

Later in the day yesterday.

(Often I’m writing these poems

For myself

And don’t even realize it.)

For me personally,

There were many advantages

To the decision

That had been made.

On the other hand,

I watched as my family experienced

A sense of rejection.

Uncertainty.

Disappointment.

Frustration.

Anger.

And there was

Nothing I could do.

That’s what hurt the most.

But after

Ice cream and Animaniacs,

We felt a little better.

Today

Everything is humming again.

Though my hubby

Still desires other work

And our son

Would still like to experience

His last year of college

With us close,

We’re doing OK.

The next time the fog clears

And we find ourselves

Where we don’t want to be,

It may be harder to adjust.

For now,

I’ll be thankful

And do my best

To love and encourage

Those with whom I fly

Most closely.

…make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, mutual affection; and to mutual affection, love. For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ (2 Peter 1:5-8 NIV).

Leave a Reply

