Over Exposure

So far

I’ve commented on

Many things that fly.

I’ve even pointed out

The lessons to be learned from

Honeybees and butterflies.

Today

I’m thinking about

Something else that “flies.”

This morning,

Before I could talk myself

Out of it,

I cleaned the rabbit hutch.

Yes,

We only have one rabbit,

But he lives in what I call

A bunny condo.

Although I used to sneeze

And sneeze

And sneeze

After I’d finished,

I don’t much anymore.

I guess my asthma taxed,

Hay dust sensitive lungs

Have gotten used to it…

That said

It looks like I’ve actually learned

Two lessons from

What most would call

A mundane task.

First,

I don’t want to be like that dust…

Floating around.

Irritating anyone who gets close.

Leaving a lasting impression…

A negative one.

That’s what I was thinking about

When I began to write.

But now,

While that’s true,

I have begun to mull over

The fact that

I no longer have

Such a negative reaction

To the dust.

Isn’t that the way of it.

At first

The things that are harmful

Bother us

And we want to steer clear.

But given enough exposure,

We become desensitized.

In the case of the hay,

It’s no big deal.

In the case of

Things that could do me real harm,

I must be vigilant.

I must fly

As fast and hard

As I can…

In the other direction.

Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak (Mark 14:38 NIV).

One thought on “Over Exposure

Leave a Reply

