My Hatchlings

I’m no ornithologist

But I did grow up in the country.

I’ve never seen a mother bird

Carry her little ones

Into the skies.

Sure

She tends to the nest

The eggs and the hatchlings.

But

Before they seem ready,

She virtually abandons them.

She has new responsibilities.

It is no longer up to her

To tend to their needs.

Yep,

It’s the same for me.

Now that my hatchlings

Are all grown,

They have to fly

On their own.

I can be here

When they need to talk

Or if they want to

Bounce ideas off me.

But I must allow them

To learn to fly on their own.

My job now

Is simply to be

A good example

And to love them

For always.

When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me (1 Corinthians 13:11 NIV).

Leave a Reply

