Ever Higher

I think of flying high

As those times I’m overjoyed.

The times I encourage someone.

The times I make a new friend…

That kind of thing.

But this morning

I realized

Something new.

If I could observe my life

From a distance,

I’d see

A steady altitude increase.

Even though difficult times

Make me feel

Like I’m barely off the ground

Or worse…

Nose down in the dirt,

That really isn’t the case.

For

Every time I grasp the truth

More firmly.

Every time I rightfully see myself

And determine to become

More the person I’m meant to be.

Every time I learn from my situation.

I’m actually flying higher.

So

While on one level

My flight path

Zigs and zags.

Dips and soars.

Moves forward then back…

On another

I truly am flying

Ever higher.

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything (James 1:2-4 NIV).

2 thoughts on “Ever Higher

  1. That’s it! We should learn from our mistakes, face trials and never give up till suffering is overcome in order to keep flying higher and “even higher” as the blogger puts it.

    I enjoyed reading these verses full of motivation.

Leave a Reply

