Flying in a Vacuum

As I sit at my computer

I feel freer, less confined.

Did I move my work station?

No.

But I did spend

A significant amount of time

Cleaning and organizing

The room where I work.

It’s liberating just knowing

The table behind me is

Virtually clear.

And I’ve chased away

Most of the dust in

The adjacent room.

Even little things

Like rinsing off

The candle, stones, shells

And candleholder

Make me breathe easier.

I feel as if I have more space…

Not only around me,

But also inside my head.

I can think more clearly.

And thereby,

I accomplish more

With fewer distractions.

When it’s cluttered and dirty,

I feel as if I’m flying

In a vacuum…

If I can fly at all.

Hopefully I remember

How wonderful this feels

And keep it up.

Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also (Matthew 6:19-21 NIV).

One thought on “Flying in a Vacuum

Leave a Reply

