Unrestricted Flight

My dear sister Darlene is posting a “What if…” series on her blog (http://dreambelievefly.wordpress.com). Today’s post is entitled “What if…we threw off our inhibitions and truly praised God?”

Recently, I’ve realized that I’ve been going through the motions far too long. Yesterday, I spent some one-on-one time with the Flight Instructor. Today, I was encouraged to worship Him without inhibition (see blog above).

Inspired by these words, I wrote today’s poem…

Why don’t I praise

The Flight Instructor

With my entire being?

Why don’t I

Pay Him the homage

He deserves?

Why do I make excuses?

Why do I really

Suppress my feelings?

Why do I crawl

When I could soar?

Is it because of what others

Might think of me?

Is it because they’ve said things

I take as warnings

Against flying?

Is it because my fellow flyers

Remain earthbound?

That would be easy…

Blame them.

Point my finger

At them.

Criticize them.

OK, Dar, you’ve made me face

Something I’ve never explored,

At least not in depth.

It’s because I just may

Value myself

And yes,

Others’ opinions of me,

More than I value

The opinion of

The One who is eager

To lift me higher

Than I’ve ever been before.

My mom used to say,

“If the choice is to offend

Others or God,

Then there really isn’t a choice.”

Can I do this?

Am I ready?

Do I want to fly

And teach others to do the same?

I guess I’m going to have to practice.

Will my thoughts,

My words,

My actions,

Reveal a totally surrendered life?

Then,

And only then,

Will I experience

Unrestricted Flight.

“The most important one (commandment),” answered Jesus, “is this…Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength…” (Mark 12:29-30, NIV).

3 thoughts on “Unrestricted Flight

Leave a Reply

