Cute and Harmless?

Yesterday

I was shopping with my son.

We were hunting for

That perfect card and gift

For his brother’s birthday.

As can happen,

We discovered

Something we would enjoy.

A cute figurine with black wings.

Today

I was giving it some thought.

I don’t believe there is

Anything wrong,

Anything evil,

About the figurine.

However,

Such is not the case

With everything that appears

Cute and harmless.

It reminded me that

I must be on the lookout.

Some things

Are much more dangerous

Than they look.

I must exercise

Wisdom and discernment.

I do not want to

Fall victim to deception.

The wisdom of the prudent is to give thought to their ways, but the folly of fools is deception (Proverbs 14:8 NIV).

Leave a Reply

