The Ultimate Destination

OK…

So I don’t get it.

When I think I need sleep

In case I get

A late night call,

I have a tough time dozing off.

Now that it isn’t an issue,

I’m ready to crash

By lunchtime.

Maybe it’s this stretch

In the middle of

My flight through life.

That gets me thinking of

The conversation

We had last night at supper.

My friend was saying how

Things don’t look so good

For our futures.

She is not looking forward to

The physical and mental challenges

That may await

Twenty or thirty years

Down the road.

I can’t say I’m too eager about it either.

But none of us know

What tomorrow will hold.

What keeps me flying,

What I hope always will,

Is what lies beyond that.

So until I get there,

I’ll soar.

Thankful for every minute.

No matter what challenges

I may face.

Because I know eventually

I’ll arrive at

The Ultimate Destination.

Then the King (Jesus) will say to those on his right, “Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world” (Matthew 25:34 NIV).

One thought on “The Ultimate Destination

Leave a Reply

