The Unanswered Questions

I had a minor meltdown

Last night.

It comes from lack of sleep.

Most days

I cope fine

With the Unanswered Questions.

But

It was just too much

For my tired brain.

Now that I’m rested

Do I have the answers?

Nope!

They’re the big ones.

The ones I’ll strive to answer

My entire life.

I’m aware of

The nice, neat frameworks

Others have constructed.

But I know

They are far too flimsy

To withstand

The winds of

Uncertainty and trial.

The crunch times.

I have a choice.

I can plop down

And refuse to fly.

Or

I can take to the skies.

Uncertain

When the next storm will hit

Or the next downdraft.

I can sit where I am.

Of I can jump from the cliff

Knowing there are jagged rocks below.

Will I ever learn

All the answers?

Not in this lifetime.

Even so,

I choose to fly.

Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see (Hebrews 11:1 NIV).

6 thoughts on “The Unanswered Questions

  1. Oh Stephanie,
    This should be published…. I know it would feed the multitudes….

    I’m taking to the skies with you, my dear forever friend………..

    NO TURNING BACK, NO TURNING BACK…
    Dixie

  2. I feel like I’ve found a kindred spirit. ♥ Between ‘Word of the Day’ challenges, writing prompts, thought provoking posts and meaningful poetry–there you are testing your wings, too.

    I want to fly. Sometimes, the battle is lost in the sitting too long. Sometimes we have to just let go of all the hindrances and take flight. 🙂

    God bless,
    Heather

    • Sitting too long…I often feel that’s what I’m doing in my spiritual life. It doesn’t matter how busy I am doing other things, if I’m not flying in that area, I’m not really flying at all.

      By the way…I’m honoured to be counted as a kindred spirit.

      Bless you, Heather.

Leave a Reply

