Off to Dreamland

It doesn’t really matter

How much I will it.

There comes a time

I just can’t fly any longer.

I want to soar.

I want to make headway.

I think of all the things

I still want to do.

But really

After all these years

I’ve come to know myself.

I wished I’d learned

Much earlier

To recognize the signs…

And heed them.

How do I know when it’s

Time to walk away?

To fold my wings

And set down

For the night?

It’s not just when

My eyes start to fall

Or I begin to yawn.

It’s when

Irritability and frustration

Make an appearance.

It’s when patience

Has reached its limit.

It’s when

The reserves are depleted.

So

With new resolve

To be more productive

Tomorrow,

I fly off to Dreamland.

Truly my soul finds rest in God; my salvation comes from him. Truly he is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken (Psalm 62:1-2 NIV).

 

Leave a Reply

