Reading Mode

There are times writers

Aren’t all that interested in writing.

This one anyway.

Yesterday

I enjoyed a mini retreat

At the hospital

While a dear friend

Had surgery.

Why do I call it

A mini retreat?

I got to read for hours

Something I haven’t taken

Time to do in ages.

The more I read

The more I want to read.

My shelves are well stocked

With books I’ve begun

Or want to read in the near future.

It doesn’t help matters

When the newest issue of Writer’s Digest

Arrives in the mail

Or when

My collection of e-books is steadily growing.

But then

On the other hand

It would be a blast to celebrate

A completed manuscript

By jumping up and down on a trampoline.

Sound strange?

Check out Frank Peretti’s page on Facebook.

Now

Watching that post was

A great start to my day.

So

Whether I spend it writing

Reading…

Or preparing for my company tomorrow…

I want to thank the authors

Who cause me to soar.

May these words of my mouth and this meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer (Psalm 19:14 NIV).

2 thoughts on “Reading Mode

  1. Glad to see I’m not alone.
    I have just returned from a three day trip–nine hours of driving one way.
    I’m thrilled to report I didn’t have to take the wheel once, which left me time to read almost two books.

Leave a Reply

