Only a Fraction

Despite

The heat

The humidity

And the unsettled stomach,

I have

Much to be thankful for.

Reconnecting with a high school friend.

Anticipation of lunch with yet another friend

And a private viewing of her wedding pictures.

An evening out with

Two of my favourite men.

A beautiful orchid

In the centre of my dining room table.

Word of two successful surgeries.

Participation in

Supportive online communities.

The list is virtually endless.

When I started to write this post,

I was thinking about

How crumby I felt.

And then I began to

Count my blessings.

Though it’s still hot

And the humidity hasn’t broken.

Though my stomach is still

A little iffy

And I’d like to get a little more done

Before retreating to the comfort

Of my air-conditioned bedroom.

I realize I could sit here and type

Until morning and still only touch on

A fraction of the blessings

That flood my life.

A good reminder.

Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful. Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom through psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts (Colossians 3:15-16 NIV).

2 thoughts on “Only a Fraction

  1. Excellent reminder, Stephanie. Praise and thanksgiving are the antidotes to heart-heaviness and despair. (My loose paraphrase of Isaiah 61:3)

    I was just reminding myself of this today.

Leave a Reply

