Trash Compactor

Remember the scene in Star Wars

Where the heroes

Are almost crushed?

Well

That’s how I feel this morning.

Though I’m not knee deep in sewage

The walls are closing in.

One one side TIME.

On the other RESPONSIBILITIES.

Instead of garbage floating around

What I must leave undone

Is piling up.

If

By some miracle

The walls stop closing in

There is still the danger

That lurks beneath the surface.

In the last hour

I have developed

A whole new respect

For those who suffer

From anxiety attacks.

I’ve also developed

A deeper appreciation

For those who won’t quit.

They seek to scale

The slick, smooth walls

Refusing to entertain the idea

That there is no hope.

And then there are those

Who are pulled under by

The unseen monster.

They never stop struggling

Somehow

They keep coming up for air.

So today

Whether I take to the skies or not

I want to be like them.

Like those who hope despite the odds.

Like those who keep fighting

No matter how many times

They go down.

And yes

Just like in the movie

I know the walls

Will not crush me.

The monster

Will not drown me.

I will rise

To soar again.

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God (Philippians 4:6 NIV).

3 thoughts on “Trash Compactor

  1. Seems like we’re on the same wavelength this morning–except that I’ve only ever seen snippets of Star Wars. Always enjoy your poetry. 🙂

  2. Oh Yes Stephanie, been in that same room. The compactor does not care who or what is in it, it just crushes everything. Regardless whether we know we wont be crushed or not;the feeling of the compactor closing in on us is still an unusually uncomfortable feeling.
    So my thinking is, if we do get crushed, it was meant to be, and we will but that much thinner for the next adventure!

Leave a Reply

