The Artistic Playground

I must once again say

Thank you to

Susan Ariel Rainbow Kennedy

(aka SARK).

I picked up one of her books

At our public library.

The whimsical illustrations

And doodles

As well as text

Handwritten with

Various coloured markers

SHOUTS

Come.

Have fun.

Spread your wings.

And what did SARK

Teach me?

Well

By being herself

She gave me permission

To do the same.

Her work isn’t Perfect

(Whatever that means).

The letters vary in size

And are sometimes

Difficult to read.

The illustrations

Are colourful and childlike.

A reflection

Of her joy and whimsy.

I am re-entering

The Artistic Playground.

Yesterday

I started an art journal.

I decorated the cover

And filled a couple of pages.

But then

I realized

It wasn’t what I was going for.

I can’t just sit down and create

Without some forethought…

Though I wish desperately

That I could.

So

What did I do?

I tore out the pages.

And I covered the front

With beautiful, handmade paper.

There are no words on the front

And no pictures on the inside

Yet.

But now

I feel as if I’m getting someplace.

Resistance to create

Something that’s not perfect

Shouldn’t hold me back.

The desire to make it

The best it can be…

(i.e.: the best reflection of me)

Will take planning

And maybe even practice.

This isn’t just

An artistic endeavour.

Or an exercise it vanity.

It’s an exploration

Of who I am

And who I want to be.

More importantly

I hope it ends up

A discovery of

Whom I’m meant to be.

Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the LORD’s purpose that prevails (Proverbs 19:21 NIV).

Leave a Reply

