I’m No Chicken

What a glorious week!

Writing.

Visiting.

Meals prepared.

No housework.

And

Chickens.

Yep, chickens.

I grew up in the country

But I was never close enough

To a chicken coop

To hear them moan…

Yes

Chickens moan…

Or watch them dig holes.

They do that too.

(Maybe the movie Chicken Run

Isn’t too far off.)

So

While I’m not a chicken,

I have some lessons to learn

From my new feathered friends.

Too often

I’ve squawked and moaned

For no good reason.

I do that less than I used to,

But I still have to watch myself.

More pressing

I have a habit of expending energy

In too many different areas.

Digging down a little way

Then walking away

To start a new hole

Somewhere else.

The chickens

May have good reasons

To dig holes.

I, however, don’t want to

Waste time.

So

Today I fly

Without needless moaning

Or hole-digging.

In a large house there are articles not only of gold and silver, but also of wood and clay; some are for special purposes and some for common use. Those who cleanse themselves from the latter will be instruments for special purposes, made holy, useful to the Master and prepared to do any good work. Flee the evil desires of youth and pursue righteousness, faith, love and peace, along with those who call on the Lord out of a pure heart (2 Timothy 2:20-22 NIV).

2 thoughts on “I’m No Chicken

  1. I love it! Chickens may me lead to a story some day – I keep telling the kids they have a plan. God can even use chickens to teach us things.

Leave a Reply

