A Gift Hoarded

Ever done anything crazy

And then been very glad you did?

Ever thought about doing something crazy

But didn’t

And later wondered if you should have?

That was me today.

I was driving home from the grocery store

(On the back streets

Because of construction on my usual route)

When I saw a young woman

Sitting on the backsteps

Of what I assume is her house.

Her chin was resting on her hand

And she looked sad.

I really wanted to stop

And tell her that Someone cared.

But I didn’t.

It doesn’t matter that

Most people wouldn’t even have considered it.

I did

But didn’t act.

This is the Year of Encouragement.

I must be willing to do crazy things

From time to time.

I have a Gift to give

And I must never ever hoard it.

So

Maybe next time

I’ll just let the ice cream

Get a little soft.

Sigh!

I said, “Oh, that I had the wings of a dove! I would fly away and be at rest (Psalm 55:6 NIV).

2 thoughts on “A Gift Hoarded

Leave a Reply

