The Big Metal Monster

Our son will be returning

For his fourth year of Bible college

In less than two weeks.

Just how do I feel about

The big metal monster

That will take him away?

Well…

Part of me is sad to see him go.

We’ve had some great heart-to-hearts

This summer.

Though we are very different,

Our perspective on life

Is very much the same.

But hey,

He’s not going to the ends of the earth

Just because his cell phone

Doesn’t work at school.

We do have the Internet.

And just how does my kid feel

About his fourth year?

He’s looking forward to it.

He’s on student council.

He’ll be one of only two fourth years

On campus.

He’ll get to reconnect with “old friends”

And make new ones.

He’s also hoping to get

Some clear direction

About what he’s to do

After graduation.

So

What does he think of

The big metal monster?

For him

It’s just

Another mode of transportation.

Plus

It’s taking him to his future

And that’s a good thing

From his perspective

And mine.

You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways. Before a word is on my tongue you, LORD, know it completely (Psalm 139:2-4 NIV).

Leave a Reply

