The Right Route

I began working on

A new project.

I could have

Barreled ahead and written

All four pages,

But I decided to check

And see if I was on

The right track.

Turns out

I was slightly off course.

Whew!

Changing a 250-word opening

Is far easier

Than rewriting a 1000-word article.

How many times

Do I continue to fly in the same direction

Only to find out it doesn’t line up with

The Original Flight Plan?

I remember from geometry class

How tiny a one-degree difference looks

At the beginning.

However

The longer I travel in

The wrong direction…

Even if I’m only off by “that much”…

The farther away I’ll get from

Where I’m supposed to be.

I hope I’m learning to check in

Before the right route

Isn’t even within sight.

Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it (Matthew 7:13-14 NIV).

Leave a Reply

