The Journey

As I sit on the tarmac

Looking out the window

I see

The airport terminal

And surrounding fields.

Apartment buildings

And skyscrapers.

As I take to the skies

I see from a new perspective.

Below are

The clusters of houses

And the patchwork fields.

As I climb still higher

I lose sight of them.

I pass through

Wispy cotton ball clouds

Playing in the blue sky.

As I break through

My mind clears.

The dome of blue

Stretches on forever.

Billowing mountain ranges

Of cumulus clouds

Reflect the sun’s brilliance.

So

Where am I now?

Sitting on the tarmac

Anticipating what’s ahead.

Taking to the skies

Looking at

What’s below and behind.

Playing among the clouds

Not yet able to see what’s ahead.

Or am I soaring

At heights that take my breath away

With nothing but

Beauty and possibility

In sight.

“I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future” (Jeremiah 29:11 NIV).

4 thoughts on “The Journey

Leave a Reply

