Divide and Conquer

I fly forward.

I fly back.

I fly forward.

I fly back.

So

What’s the solution?

Choose a destination

And don’t stop flying

Until I get there?

Sometimes.

I can then look back

Over my route

And rejoice

In how far I’ve come.

There are other times

However

That just isn’t practical.

There are tasks that need to be accomplished

Simultaneously.

And when that’s the case

I have to make short flights.

Say London to Toronto and back again.

Take

For example

The reading I have on the go.

If I divide the number of pages in the book

By the number of days until my deadline…

Self-imposed or otherwise…

I can read x number of pages per day

And set it aside.

A commuter hop if you will.

If I divide my responsibilities

And conquer today’s goals

I’m still on my way

To The Destination.

When it comes to goal-setting, I’d like to refer you to today’s post a http://janetsketchley.wordpress.com/

One thought on “Divide and Conquer

  1. The “commuter hop” with reading (or writing) is great, because it means we make a bit of progress every day instead of waiting for that mythical huge block of free time.

    Thanks for the blog referral! Staci Stallings’ guest post gives us a great reminder to let God be the goal-setter.

Leave a Reply

