A Great Honour

There they sit

Poised

Waiting for inspiration.

My fingers

Rest on the keys

Waiting for some epiphany

To send them flying.

And then

A pause.

I stop to chat

At length.

First with my son

And then with my daughter.

I love these times.

As a doula-in-training

I’m overwhelmed

When I witness

The arrival of a new life.

And though they’re grown,

It still blows me away

That I have

Three grown children.

I want the best for them.

Not wealth.

Not fame.

Not recognition.

But the wonder

Of knowing

They’re on

The Right Path.

Fulfilling

That for which

They were created.

Not some fatalistic inevitability

But a divine purpose.

Their own special place

In the universe.

And the epiphany?

Maybe there is none.

Not tonight anyway.

But there is the knowing

That one of the greatest joys

Of my life

Is the honour

Of being called

Mom.

The father of a righteous child has great joy; a man who fathers a wise son rejoices in him. May your father and mother rejoice; may she who gave you birth be joyful! (Proverbs 23:24-25 NIV)

Leave a Reply

