Autumn Skies

It must be fall,

My hands are cold,

Like blocks of ice,

So I’ve been told.

The kettle’s on

For something hot,

Not the thing

I do a lot.

Unless the winds

Are blowing cold,

And skies are gray,

And leaves are old.

It can be hard

To soar the skies,

When chilly currents

Round me fly.

I’d rather stay

Completely still

Snuggled warm

Beneath my quilt.

But autumn skies

Are calling loud,

They beckon me

Above the crowd.

So I must fly

To reach my goals,

Come fly with me

Before it snows.

For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do (Ephesians 2:10 NIV).

6 thoughts on “Autumn Skies

    • You’re such a sweetheart. As far as inspiration goes…I just think about where I’m at at any given moment – or what I’ve been learning – and take it from there.

      • Thanks for sharing. I think, (no, I know) my fear of failure prevents me from sitting down to write more often, not to mention the every day work that needs to be done.
        My hands are cold too.

  1. Love this one too. Tracy is right – you are talented. BUT, me thinks you are not completely well yet my friend – reason – your hands should not be this cold. How about doing something that you are loathe to do —– slow down and rest.

    • I am ever so thankful for your care and concern. However, my hands have been “freezing up” in the fall and thawing in the spring for years. Not to worry. (grin)

      • Hmmm – that could signify other problems – like poor circulation – I hope not as I think you have no problem circulating in other areas. 🙂 Glad you are good.

Leave a Reply

