No Matter What

This weekend marks

Thanksgiving in Canada

Each year

I have 365 days

To be thankful

Next year

Lord willing

I’ll have 366

(Leap Year and all)

Some things

Are easy to be thankful for

Things like

Family

Friends

Our home

Our health

Peace

Plenty

The benefits of other things

Are harder to see

Losing a loved one…

My mom went Home

Last April

When I wish I could

Share something with her

I’m thankful we had

That kind of relationship

How about a hungry bank account?

If I look at what we have

Instead of what we don’t

And when I consider

What’s the worst that could happen?

I realize

I have no idea

What it means to be poor

Never mind destitute

And when

Like most parents

There are times

I’m concerned for my kids

I realize

I have absolutely

Nothing to worry about

So

Today…and every day

I will be thankful

When it’s easy

And when it’s not

My heart will soar

Knowing I can trust

The One I thank

No matter what

Know that the LORD is God. It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, the sheep of his pasture. Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; give thanks to him and praise his name. For the LORD is good and his love endures forever; his faithfulness continues through all generations (Psalm 100:3-5 NIV).

4 thoughts on “No Matter What

  1. Yes, we have so much to be thankful for.
    Legs to walk
    Eyes to read
    Ears to hear
    Hands to write
    A Nose to smell
    A Mouth to talk…
    And on, and on, and on.
    Happy Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

