Me, Me, Me

One of the things

That most effectively

Keeps me from soaring

Is selfishness.

It was driven home to me

Just this week

How sneaky self-centredness

Can be.

Many of us remember the saying

Look out for Number One!

We rarely see those words anymore,

But we see the same attitude.

Far too often

I see it in myself.

I’d say readily,

“It’s not about me.”

But

Do I believe it?

I have to examine

Why I do what I do.

There are times

Doing something for myself…

Eating right…

Exercising…

Withdrawing to work things through…

Can benefit others

As well as myself.

That’s the thing…

I have to be honest.

Why do I do what I do?

When it’s for me, me, me,

Guaranteed,

I’ll remain earthbound.

When I do it for others,

I’ll take wing

Once again.

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves (Philippians 2:3, NIV).

Leave a comment